Flat Shading

On Friday I did some flat shading on Photoshop. This basically meant picking a photo in grey-scale and picking out the three (high, mid, and low) main shades and making 3 layers, one for each.

On the fist layer I did the mid-shade, a silhouette of the image. The second and third were for the dark and light shades so I could add shadows and highlights.

For mine I did a picture of Audrey Hepburn. It turned out alright but with practice I’ll hopefully learn where to map contours and highlights more naturally.

audrey-hepburn

Leave a Reply

