Game Jam Day One and Two

 

 

Though I’m only 17 I joined in with the #NGenGGJ this weekend. To do a Waves themed game me and my group decided to do one based on sound waves.

Our game is themed as a bass guitar having sound waves travel down the string. I am the artist so I designed “Rick the Pick” our character, and the game background of the bass guitar.

On Friday night I drew a lot of ideas for the features of Rick around an empty plectrum, then decided with my group if they liked the same ones as me and designed the ideal design based on that. I drew it out in Pro-marker pens and then scanned them in.

concept

At college on Saturday I used my Rick design to paint him digitally. I completely covered the entire thing on Photoshop by digitally painting over him to make him look how I envisioned him when I first drew him. I am new to Photoshop this year but I used the graphics tablet to draw some of it using the pen which made it feel far more familiar to me. I am very pleased with how he turned out and the college even tweeted me out- which was cool.

I then designed the game scene, a horizontal front facing bass guitar- cropped to the strings and pickups.

guitar-1

In game there are 4 Strings over the top of this, but they are platforms, so are separate files from Flash that Kyle made. Kyle, Jack and Owen did the code, Jack did music and is working on a main menu, and I did the art and may do animation on my character. I am happy with how it is going so far and everyone’s work looks great.

Leave a Reply

