Making a Head in Sculptris

The other week in Tony’s lesson he introduced us to the software called Sculptris which is a simpler version of Mudbox. We used this to make our own heads. You begin with a sphere shape, which you can use the tools to morph into anything you want.

Smoothing adds poly’s to your model, so there is a reduce tool brush which lowers the polys to keep the model even, and stop risking Sculptris crashing, which kept happening to me in lesson.

I came back into college to use Sculptris again the next Wednesday and in the other room it worked well! I made a Plasticine, Joker-like face in Tony’s the other week, so I did that again, but with a lot more time put in digitally. I was never great at sculpting, so I thought I’d find this really difficult, but once it was running smoothly, I stopped worrying about doing too many little details in case it crashed, and just sculpted whatever I wanted to on the face, down to the hair and teeth.

The face is very exaggerated, as the Joker’s is in comic books, and I left the eyes blank. I really wanted to focus on a confusing, frightening expression, and I would like to have eyes included, but this way it doesn’t allow to eyes to show expression at all. Eyes can smile or not smile along with the mouth; when they don’t it is a chilling expression.

joker

I’m happy with how my first completed 3D face turned out (though I feel I could make it creepier).

 

Leave a Reply

