Photoshop Portrait Practice

A while ago in Tony’s lessons we did practice in painting faces in photoshop. Firstly we imported the photo, then used layers to keep adding block colors in.

Once I had all of the block colors layered in, I began merging layers to use the blend tool to mix the colours together.

Then, I decided to add in the fine details on the hair and face and complete the picture for my practice portfolio as an example of what I have learnt to do in digital art.

I am happy with how my first proper portrait looked on photoshop. I like the style, how smooth it looks with bold colours, because I always have to work hard to smooth out paints when I do physical paintings, as I prefer a seamless finish to my pictures most of the time.

Leave a Reply

